Photo’s   Michael Eaddy

Videos   A Grade          D Grade    Cycling Clinic

Riders Promotion

Russell Lee    CCCC    Up to A Grade

Steve Dwyer    Coburg    up to B Grade

Jonathon Reece  CCCC    Up to C Grade

Richard Hood    BWK    Up to C Grade

Joshua Struzinski    3/2     Up to C Grade

Kit Kirby    3/1    Up to C Grade

Part two of the Race Report to come

Our A & B Grade reports come from Doug Moody

With a 28 deg overnight minimum and the weather bureau forecasting a cool change some A and C grade riders hoped that they would not have to race in the same conditions as B and D. Those that felt fit and strong were looking forward to the advantage the conditions would avail them. The heat the humidity and the wind were to set the scene for some fantastic. tough racing.

C Grade

After 20 minutes of racing Michael Cosgrove had been away solo for a number of laps, however Steve Dwyer was bearing down and caught Michael 3 laps later. Together the two leaders continued to increase their lead every lap and managed to lap the field ten minutes before the board for 3 laps to go. Two chasers Jerome Wigger and Greg Aidone both of whom still showed plenty of energy after already having done volunteer duty during the B and D Grade races also lapped the decimated field shortly after but could not catch the two leaders.

In the final lap Steve Dwyer had too much for Mitchell Cosgrave to take first, whilst Jerome Wigger held out Greg Aidone for third. Youngster Travis Stewart rode strongly to finish fifth.

A Grade

This was no race for the faint hearted. From the gun attacks occurred on almost every lap as those who believed the extreme weather was their friend were determined to make the others suffer. Eventually the selection was made and Robert Tighello, Tommy Nankervis, David Williams and Jake Klajnblat were away. With 5 min and 3 laps to go the leaders lapped the remnants of the field. In the end 1/4 a lap behind determined chasers Carter Turnbull and Henry Leef managed to hold out and not be lapped. Club Champion Jake Klajnblat took his first win for the season 200m ahead of Club President Robert Tighello just rolled Tommy Nankervis who took an uncharacteristic third place. Youngster David Williams was the last of the break to cross the line claiming fourth place. Queenslander Henry Leef held out Carter Turnbull for fifth.

The many volunteers who made this morning’s racing possible deserve a very special thank you for their contribution in such trying conditions.